Tribhuvan Army Club has won the MM Cup ODI Tournament for the second time in a row.

Jan 26, Sunsari – Tribhuvan Army Club has won the Manmohan Memorial ODI National Cricket Tournament for the second time in a row by defeating Nepal Police Club. Last year, the army had won the title by defeating the police. 

Army defeated Nepal Police Club by 85 runs in the final of the competition held at Inaruwa, Sunsari. Police lost all their wickets for 99 runs in 24.4 overs while chasing the target of 185 runs set by the Army at the Inaruwa Stadium. Apart from Kushal Bhurtel (31), Amit Shrestha (23) and Anil Sah (21), other batsmen could not score double figures. 

Earlier, losing the toss, Army lost all their wickets for 184 runs in 48.5 overs. Captain Binod Bhandari contributed the highest 40 runs in Army’s batting. He struck four fours in 66 balls. Similarly, Rajesh Pulami scored 31 runs, Raju Rijal 22 runs, Bikram Sob 15 runs, Kushal Malla 13 runs and Rohit Poudel 11 runs. Left-arm spinners Lalit Rajbanshi and Sagar Dhakal and off-spinner Dipendra Airy took three wickets apiece. Dhakal scored 29 runs in 10 overs with 1 maiden, Rajbanshi scored 32 runs with 1 maiden in 10 overs and Airy scored 27 runs in 9.5 overs. Pawan Sarraf took 1 wicket. 

Army’s Sushan Bhari was also selected as the Player of the Match of the final game. Along with the title, the Army received Rs. 450,000 and the runner-up Police received Rs. 250,000. The best player of the tournament was Army left-arm spinner Sushan Bhari who bagged Rs 55,000. Bhari took a total of 15 wickets in 4 games. The best bowler of the tournament was Binod Lama of Far West who took 14 wickets in 3 games and the best batsman was Kushal Malla of Tribhuvan Army Club who scored 196 runs including 1 century in 4 games. The best bowler and the best batsman each received Rs 21,000. 

A total of 12 teams from seven provinces, three departments, one Malaysian national team and one organizing team participated in the competition organized by Manmohan Memorial Cricket Center, PN1. The competition was started on the 17th of Push.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on skype

Leave a Reply